Author Topic: Another ebay issue re selling and the ATO.  (Read 17335 times)

Another ebay issue re selling and the ATO.
« on: August 01, 2010, 09:16:41 pm »
Seems the ATO wants my details as I have supposedly sold more than $20000 over a financial year. If you sell four decent bikes over a year period then look out. I started a second ebay name as I was worried about that, but it seems I am too late. Beware!

Offline LWC82PE

• Superstar
    • View Profile
    • PE motorcycles & SuzukiTS.com
Re: Another ebay issue re selling and the ATO.
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2010, 09:22:56 pm »
Wow, ive never heard of this before. How does the ATO find out how much youve sold on ebay?
Wanted - 1978 TS185 frame or frame&motor. Frame # TS1852-24007 up to TS1852-39022

Offline Nathan S

• Superstar
  • HEAVEN #818
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2010, 09:23:09 pm »
Interesting. I'm no tax expert (Turtle, are you there?), but it seems likely that if selling bikes is considered income by the ATO, then the cost of rebuilding them is a tax deduction.

I'm sure that this would work out well for us, not the ATO....
The good thing about telling the truth is that you don't have to remember what you said.

Offline 2 shocks

• A-Grade
  • Gods Country !!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2010, 09:30:31 pm »
Turds, thats all I can say. I note that in last weeks news they are going to crack down on companies selling products on Ebay & making sure they are paying the right tax, there is no escape. Isnt there more important people to target than the Mr Nice Guy  ???

Good luck mate >:(

Mrs Maico #54

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2010, 09:40:46 pm »

Hello 090brad ([email protected]),

eBay has received a request from the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) for information relating to members of www.ebay.com.au who had sales greater than AU $20,000 in any given year during the period 1 July 2007 to 30 June 2009.