Author Topic: What recession ?  (Read 3992 times)

Offline Husky500evo

• Legend
    • View Profile
What recession ?
« on: April 30, 2009, 06:41:15 pm »

Offline Husky500evo

• Legend
    • View Profile
Re: What recession ?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 07:20:26 pm »
Because Ohlins have always been the benchmark (since 1976 anyway), Walter . Perhaps I should have used the word "premium" instead of Ohlins, as there are many top quality shock manufacturers about these days . Works Performance would not be my on the top of my list of shocks to use, as I have had some bad experiences with them (& some other brands of shocks as well).
« Last Edit: May 01, 2009, 06:52:36 am by Husky500evo »

Offline JohnnyO

• Legend
  • Qld
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 07:51:49 pm »
The americans love those american made works performance shocks. I think they are of the belief that they are top of the range shocks. I've used them and they aren't bad but they're not ohlins quality.

Offline Husky500evo

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 09:14:04 pm »
Maybe with a set of  externally hi/low speed compression & rebound adjustable shocks (& a factory reed cylinder), the Maico on ebay may start to approach the very high starting bid price that it has on it . That was the point I was trying to make . I probably should also state that I currently have two bikes fitted with Works Performance shocks, that actually work quite well. The shocks were ordered specifically for those model bikes & rider weight etc . Problems arise when the shocks are not valved correctly for that particular model bike . Works Performance used a primitive ball valve set-up ( I don't know if they still do) instead of the adjustable compression & rebound shim stacks that more modern design shocks use, making them a lot harder to tune . 

Offline holeshot buddy

• Legend
  • sunshine coast qld
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2009, 09:14:59 pm »
it will sell for sure