Author Topic: Vintage riding gear  (Read 5193 times)

Offline YUMASTEPSIDE

• Legend
    • View Profile
Vintage riding gear
« on: January 17, 2009, 08:28:33 am »
After reading Firko's discourse with Karl Landrus in a Maico thread , his comment on period riding apparrel got me thinking! I hate wearing those modern technicolour harlequin suits also, so where do you get " normal " looking or "period" riding gear ? Can you you still buy the old Stagg leathers ?( I bought my first set from Elle Knowles when I was an apprentice in Sydney in the mid seventies !)I still have a pair of Belstaff waxed cotton pants ,but no hope of getting them around my gut any more !!!!!.............so, who sells the old style stuff ???

Roger 

Offline YUMASTEPSIDE

• Legend
    • View Profile
Re: Vintage riding gear
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 08:43:20 am »
......been thinking again( must be the day for it!!) Question............what did you wear in the day ????

used to be Bell motostar,red/yellow Stagg leathers,Barrifuldi's,blue and white Husky jersey or team John Scott jersey,but cant remember what the boots were,could have been Vendramini's..........damn! must be getting too old !!!

Roger

Offline Colin Jay

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 08:46:02 am »
Roger, I have the same problem as you do with modern multi coloured riding gear. However being a the type of person who won't thow away anything remotely usefull, I still have a lot of my old riding gear, and all though my leathers no longer fit (they must have shrunk) I still wear my old Alpine Star DeCoster boots, and Jim Davis shin/knee protectors when I ride in road trials. The rest of my outfit for road trials is a pair of black ONeil pants, a black dry rider jacket (my Belstaf has shrunk as well) and an open face helmet.

I also have my pair of Scott boots that I imported from the US before they became avaliable here in Aus, and a pair of battered Vendramini boots.

CJ