Author Topic: New to VMX, 1975 Cr 125m  (Read 14254 times)

Offline peely_14

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
New to VMX, 1975 Cr 125m
« on: September 02, 2015, 02:01:24 am »
Hi all,

I am new to the VMX scene and have just commenced my first project 1975 Honda Cr 125m.

Over the past couple of days I have been doing extensive research (treasure hunt) trying to locate parts. With all the wisdom amongst the group I would love some guidance on a few things:

1. What size excel front rim can I run on a Cr 125m? I have been chasing a excel rim, same spec as stock 1.40x21 36H, however I have been told excel no longer make this size. I understand the original rims were DID, however the spoke kits suggest using excel rims...

2. What rear shocks to run and the best place to purchase from?

3. Lastly are there any recommended spray painters in Perth, for when I'm ready to paint the frame and motor?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Cheers, peely_14  :D

Offline skypig

• Legend
    • View Profile
Re: New to VMX, 1975 Cr 125m
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2015, 03:37:02 am »
Welcome to the madness.

Can't suggest anything regarding rims, but thought fronts were pretty standard.

You can try for "stock like the brochure" or think "I would have been the cool kid in 1975 with these rims!" Both great options IMHO.

Limited experience suggests not painting or powder coating a frame till it has been assembled (basically compleatly)
Then stripping it back down for the finish coating.
(More work - sure)

Pretty easy to weld/braze/what ever, a stripped (etc) thread on a frame, yet to be finished.
It's heart breaking to need to weld (etc) a freshly painted frame.

Post pics :)

Offline YZ250H

• Legend
  • Back in QLD Baby !
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2015, 08:31:02 am »
Welcome Peely,