Author Topic: Another Canberran  (Read 1735 times)

Offline cr750

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
    • My home page
Another Canberran
« on: September 04, 2014, 10:45:59 pm »
I jumped the gun, and apologise if I've offended.

I've been riding for a few years now, and have enjoyed home built mini bikes when they were not even in Australia, (we built our own from Victa mower engines), rode a side valve BSA 500/600 in the forrest for a few years. Yes, rigid tail and girder forks. Then moved on to a very used DT1, and then an XL250 for my learners in '74. I raced a few times as a fully sponsored MX rider. (The owner hurt his knee and let me ride his YZ250 in a couple of races... 8-) Did a bit of Pony Express at the Ballarat Rovers (Monza Park) in the eighties on a YZ125, XT500, IT425, IT465, and finally winning the open class in '84 on an IT490 with my brother Ian. I pretty much packed up the speed stuff (got married, had kids, was comatose), and rode my '73 RD350 back and forth to work for a bunch of years.
In 2002 I happened across a'73 Rickman CR750 (Honda SOHC4 with 836 kit) rekindling my love of bikes, and rebuilt it from the ground up, including re-nickel plating the frame, and teasing a few more ponies from the tired K1 donk, and a teasing a couple of gorillas out of my wallet.
On moving to the National Capital in 2007, I met Mark, a member here, and started helping him maintain his stable of Post Classic Yamaha road race bikes (LC250 & 350, TDR250 and TZR250), flat trackers (IT 250 and 400), and his vinduro stable of IT200 and IT175. I'm the epitome of the "Pit Bitch" on PCRA race days. My job on race day is to facilitate the talent. That is, I make sure the rider only has one thing to concentrate on, and that is RACING. I look after the rest of the crap.(tires pressures, fuel, repairs, food, hydration) Plenty of "Hurry up, and wait!".
Anyway...
I guess as a level of recognition, Mark allowed me to ride the IT175 at Harrow in 2013.