Author Topic: anyone got advice on selling on ebay  (Read 5813 times)

Offline kdx 175

• A-Grade
    • View Profile
anyone got advice on selling on ebay
« on: December 12, 2013, 11:14:33 am »
what  not to do and what to do im new at this

Offline Lewis

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
Re: anyone got advice on selling on ebay
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2013, 11:35:33 am »
Check out first their fees before advertising an item.All may not be as it seems!

Offline Nathan S

• Superstar
  • HEAVEN #818
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2013, 07:51:52 pm »
#1 rule is to imagine you are a potential buyer - do you have enough info to feel comfortable about buying the item sight unseen? Way too many people write ads on the assumption that the potential buyer knows as much about the item as they do... Give people the info that you would want if you were a buyer. What needs doing? What's had money spent on it? How good are the tyres? The chain and sprockets? Etc.

In particular:

Post good pics. Three or four clear over-view pics, and the remaining 8 or 9 on clear detail pics. Photos of a bike that's half in the shade and half in the light are hopeless - put the bike up against the shed or the fence (or other clear background) when its in the shade, and then take the photos.
Move the bike - it takes about 10 seconds to turn a bike around for another photo, and gives a 10000% better impression than if you take a lousy photo where you jam the camera between the bike and the fence...

No bullshit description. You might suck in some morons with a deliberately vague description that 'forgets' to mention the problems, but you will also massively increase the chances of copping time-wasting fools and/or agro.

The good thing about telling the truth is that you don't have to remember what you said.

Offline frostype400

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2013, 08:00:08 pm »