Author Topic: Hello from the California Desert  (Read 6479 times)

Offline Scootern29

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
Hello from the California Desert
« on: July 18, 2013, 10:00:09 AM »
Good day members, My name is Scott. I hail from 29 Palms, California, USA which is out in the middle of the desert about 150 miles from Los Angeles.

I have been lurking on this site for a couple of years. I found it while searching for information on a 1976 MX125C Yamaha. I have been hooked ever since. I really enjoy seeing what goes on with your VMX "down under". The internet makes it so cool and seeing the stuff you all have and have had, to me, is quite interesting.

A quick overview of myself and I will keep it brief. I started riding in the late 60's with hand me down junk. I bought my first real motocrosser in 1974. A Puch 175 MX. In 1975 I went to work for Charles Curnutt and worked for him and was his last employee in 1982. I was lucky to have gone through the suspension revolution in that time frame. I have seen some amazing things. I still am in touch with Chuck to this day. During this time I raced desert mostly and a few motocross races. I started racing vintage MX in 1987 way before AHRMA and hung up the leathers in 2000. My goals during the time was to win the CZ World Championship which I did in 1992 in the 250 experts and the Adelanto GP which I won the 125 Experts in 2000. I sold my collection after that and I was somewhat out of bikes until a couple of years ago. I have modern bikes but then the old bike bug hit again. I have also been a member of the Hilltoppers MC which is an AMA off road club established in 1945. If you have heard of Johnny Campbell (Factory Honda,Baja Fame) my club does all the pitting for them in the long distance races. So there ya have it.

I hope to contribute on this site if I can. Here's a couple of picks of my last two bikes I did.

Scott

Offline Hoony

• Legend
  • Melbourne, Vic.
    • View Profile
Re: Hello from the California Desert