Author Topic: Is this Frame Salvagable?????  (Read 1987 times)

IT400C

Is this Frame Salvagable?????
« on: November 21, 2010, 11:49:40 pm »
Hi Guys,

Is this frame salvagable?  If so, How?  What would be the best method?   ??? ???

I've never worked with a frame this bad before, but I have the matching numbers motor in near perfect condition, and this bike has some history.  Well, to me it does anyway.   ::)

The motor was pulled and used in something else years ago (and was given a top to bottom rebuild not long before I bought it), but the frame has been sitting out in the weather for years...   :'(

Thanks, Tony

(sorry, I may have overcorrected acouple of the photos to get the rust to show more clearly)

Offline Davey Crocket

• Legend
    • View Profile
Re: Is this Frame Salvagable?????
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2010, 07:50:58 am »
Anything can be repaired Tony.....you need to sandblast it and then go around with a hammer and give it a tap to see where its thin....give me a ring.
QVMX.....Australia's #1 VMX club......leading the way.

Offline Marc.com

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2010, 08:06:04 am »
Comes under the category of not worth it, you can probably find a better one.
formerly Marc.com

Offline frostype400

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2010, 08:08:06 am »
you know the number you want stamped on the new frame. ;)
1971 tm400 and PE's

IT400C

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2010, 10:38:10 am »
Anything can be repaired Tony.....you need to sandblast it and then go around with a hammer and give it a tap to see where its thin....give me a ring.

John, I'll give you a ring today, thanks.

I'd like to salvage the frame if I can, but only if it's going to be safe to use....  I think there's a 1 in 4 chance that this was my fathers bike back in '76 - and even if it's not Dad's, I know who the other 3 owners were too...   ;)

Offline vandy010

• Legend
  • #789 MX125a BMCC Brisbane
    • View Profile