Author Topic: Chassis Cracks and Broken Brackets  (Read 14592 times)

Ji Gantor

Chassis Cracks and Broken Brackets
« on: April 22, 2010, 11:29:27 pm »
When dealing with old bikes you will eventually come across a crack in the chassis or a broken bracket.
There has been a lot of words written about this topic on this forum but bike owners and restorers are still confused.
All agree that a repair is required.
I have seen lots of repairs and some frankly make me embarrassed  to be part of the VMX crowd.
I am not saying for one instant that I am an expert, in fact I consider myself a white belt on the subject but some people should not do work they have no idea about, after all some repairs are just dangerous for anyone that rides that bike. So with that said lets explore how it can be done, keeping the structural integrity of the frame in tack while maintaining the original look.

Attached is a typical seat bracket that over 30 years has become cracked in a few places. The metal would be mild steel fixed to a chrome molly tube frame.

Ji

Ji Gantor

Re: Chassis Cracks and Broken Brackets
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 11:35:05 pm »
Start by wire brushing all the loose paint and rust off.
This will give a better idea of what is wrong and clean the surface ready for welding.
Take a small hammer and a dolly and tap the bracket back into its original shape.
Take your time with this as it will pay off down the track.
Once done fit the seat and see if everything lines up.

Ji

Ji Gantor

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2010, 11:46:06 pm »
TIG welding is the best method in my opinion.
Use an appropriate filler rod and weld the cracks up.
Seeing how this metal is mild steel and the repair is so far away from the chrome molly tubes there is no need to post heat. If you feel that post heat should be done to remove stresses then that is great, it will not harm the frame if done right.
After the welding is finished sand not grind the bead flat and make the affected area look like new.