Author Topic: painting helmets  (Read 4743 times)

zman

painting helmets
« on: December 24, 2009, 08:13:21 pm »
hi all so is it safe to paint them ive been told in the past it effects the fibre its made of but i cant see any reason why it would

thanks hope you all have a great xmas :)

Offline marsman

• Novice
    • View Profile
Re: painting helmets
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2009, 10:54:53 am »
I used to work in the motorcycle industry back in the 70's and 80's and sold stacks of helmets.
The only thing I can recall is not to paint the polycarbonate (plastic helmets ) as the paint does apparently react with the polycarbonate. I know we used to stock a special spraypaint for them (poly).

I can also recall selling fiberglass helmets which were painted red white and blue , which were done by Bennett Honda here in Aust. and I've painted many fiberglass helmets over the years and I can honestly say that the internal padding will wear out long before the helmet will detonate from a paint job!!!
Hope it helps
"I know I was fast once ; but I just can't remember when"

DR

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2009, 11:54:55 am »
it's not so much the shell if it's fibreglass it's the polystyrene or whatever it's called 'foam' inner shell that may be damaged by the solvents in the paint. I'd reckon if you seal the inner totally so as no fumes could get in then where be the problem :-\ Painted them before but I've never really put any to the test after the fact.

zman

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2009, 03:43:04 pm »
im having a bit of trouble finding an open face thats not black, silver or white id like a yellow one but there hard to bloody find. just wanna have the 80s look with the scott face mask again

Offline Colin Jay

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2009, 05:41:13 pm »
I have painted several of my helmets in the past, but only ever those with fibreglass shells. Properly masked there should be no risk to the internal liner.