Author Topic: Dirt track weapon....well sort of..  (Read 16038 times)

gerpster

Re: Dirt track weapon....well sort of..
« Reply #45 on: March 02, 2008, 10:28:22 PM »
Well my first go at DT and is was FUN...but yeh I was holding up traffic I think being a total newbie but we all seemed to get around OK.

The TS went well when it was in the power band. Still did not want to start happily, idle was crap and was also bogging a bit a high revs..I think maybe a carby kit may help. The operator needs more practice too but by session 3 things were gettin a bit better!!    :-[  Hoonin up the hill and down that straight was great stuff!!    :)

Thanks to Pat and Graeme for a great day!!!

I have an XL500 that runs like a dream hiding in the shed too so I'm now tempted to get it out for a go as well....great bikes too and a 4 stroke may suit me a bit better - being more used to road bikes etc.   ::)

Offline Graeme M

• Administrator
  • Legend
  • Canberra, Australia
    • View Profile
« Reply #46 on: March 02, 2008, 10:38:57 PM »
Yep, it was fun alright, and good to see you out there Greg. Given how fast I've seen blokes ride those XL500s, I reckon you should focus on getting that on the track. Keep the TS for more low key things like CD5 and go 4-stroke for your racing fun!

Offline elsie 125

• A-Grade
    • View Profile
« Reply #47 on: March 03, 2008, 07:11:32 AM »
the XL would be fun Greg, more rideable and reliable, wont take much to get used to on DT,

Offline Freakshow

• Superstar
  • Adelaide, SA - looking for a "YZA" tank
    • View Profile
« Reply #48 on: March 03, 2008, 08:56:00 PM »
Some Dt track that are round, dont like no wheel spin bikes, so you end up ridding around like a pee wee 50 all upright and uptight, kinda spoils any fun. 

YOu need at least enough power so you scare yourself when you run in fast and need to tip it over inot a turn and it starts to drift.