Author Topic: Lost Information  (Read 9161 times)

Offline YZ250H

• Legend
  • Back in QLD Baby !
    • View Profile
Lost Information
« on: July 31, 2007, 07:34:56 pm »
Thanks Graeme for humouring me.  I'd have to say as a newbie I got a lot out of the old topic that was Resto Tips and I asked for it to be put up again.  A few old favourites that spring to mind are PJ1/VHT Vs Supercheap paint (can we please please have that debate again :D), Plating, removing rust from parts and my personal favourite (that has saved me hours of tedious sanding) removing old anodising.

So don't be shy everyone.  I remember that Tip #2 was buy yoursefl a plating kit (which I have done) but i can't remember what tip #1 was.
We lost a lot of really good stuff when the turks took over - I'd like to try to get some of it back.

HELP !!

Looking for YZ250C parts NOS if possible

"My inability to use emoticins in the right context is really getting me down :)
The only triple jumps he would have been doing are the hop, skip & jump.

ianscr250

Re: Lost Information
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2007, 12:38:44 am »
one trick i have learned since the last forum debate on rust paint and bullshit was
a great idea called baking soda blasting
unlike its counterpart sand and bead it is super fine so on spokes frames and the like its great in taking it back to skin without removing the precious metal

you can from your local auto one buy a low pressure sand blast gun and from most wholsale food suppliers you can buy a 50kg bag of baking soda
To equate it   baking soda blasting on a car takes about 6 50kg bags so on bikes frames wheels an so on it should be great

Offline YZ250H

• Legend
  • Back in QLD Baby !
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2007, 07:28:19 am »
Great tip Ian.  I assume you have tried it from your post.  I imagine it would feed through the blaster as long as you kept it nice and dry.  Any idea what a 50kg bag of that stuff would be worth ??

Cheers