Author Topic: Swingarm welding  (Read 2831 times)

Offline ola_martin

• Legend
    • View Profile
Swingarm welding
« on: May 06, 2009, 08:48:34 pm »
I'modifying a RM swingarm. It's widened 25mm. and as you see I'm making a new "bridge" between the arms. what I also would like to do is to put a new bigger "ridge" on top of the arm from the shockmount and forward. My only reason to do this is for the looks.
But I have no experience on what will happen with heat disformation , will it pull out in all directions??
My welder says he can weld it bit by bit and let it cool in between, also as you can see I'm thinking about a jig to stiffen it up during welding.

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!

Offline ola_martin

• Legend
    • View Profile
Re: Swingarm welding
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2009, 08:49:17 pm »
pic

Offline maicomc490t

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2009, 10:45:21 pm »
We might need to call in the heavies for an opinion on this one.

Welding and even controlling distortion should not be a big deal with the right welder at the end of the TIG torch but many of the alloy swingarms were heat treated following the welding process.

The requirement as to heat treat or not would be worth investigating, but having said that there are probably thousands of swingarms around the world that have been successfully and safely welded without getting too carried away with additional work.

Perhaps Geoff from GMC can enlighten you or do the job for you if you are looking for a good TIG master

Dave Mac  :D
VAPOUR (AKA HYDRA / HYDRO / AQUA / WET) BLASTING AND GENERAL ENGINEERING 0416074750 (or) [email protected]

DUCATI Parts wanted esp 450 R/T and other early models inc V-twins

BULTACO M49 parts wanted

Offline Lozza

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2009, 12:55:08 am »