Author Topic: RM370a Gear change shaft  (Read 2071 times)

Offline mike1948

• A-Grade
  • Margate, QLD
    • View Profile
RM370a Gear change shaft
« on: September 09, 2008, 06:04:52 pm »
Just a question for all you Suzuki types.  A friend is restoring one of my favourite VMX'rs, a RM370A, and has been told gear change shafts are like hens teeth to find.  How true is that, will he have to sell his first born child, or is there out there a supplier for that type of product?

Offline gorby

• B-Grade
    • View Profile
Re: RM370a Gear change shaft
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2008, 06:59:41 pm »
it is usually the spine that is flogged out,I have cut the worn spline off and welded a donor spline from a better shaft on to it .I join it where the shaft is inside the motor so the seal runs on a fresh surface.
I am only a mug electric arc welder and have had no failures using this method.

One suzuki repair caused hassles when I used a honda spline and the next owner could not buy a fine spline suzuki gearlever ;D

Doc

« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 12:28:08 pm »