Author Topic: B44 motor rebuild, advice wanted  (Read 8363 times)

Offline FourstrokeForever

• Legend
  • AKA Mark H #35 VCM
    • View Profile
B44 motor rebuild, advice wanted
« on: October 25, 2013, 08:59:12 pm »
I'm in the process of rebuilding my B44 and am now working on the motor and was wondering if it will be worth the effort and $$ to put a B50MX cam in with the standard bore.
A couple of questions come to mind, seeing as I'm no expert with a bike that is nearly my age! I did a full rebuild on my B50 without any dramas so I know what I'm doing with the spanners but as for getting more out of the little 441, I'm clueless. And looking at the prices of the go fast suppliers, I want to stay within a meager budget.

Will I need different length pushrods if I put in the B50 cam? Is the cam wheel the same number of teeth? Is it worth putting B50 gear ratios in? What is the biggest piston that can be used in the standard liner?

I know there are 500cc options available but that's an expense that I don't particularly need at the moment.

Any help/advice will be much appreciated.

Cheers, Mark
Arrogance.....A way of life for the those that having nothing further to learn.

Offline matcho mick

• Legend
    • View Profile
    • Moto Tumbi
Re: B44 motor rebuild, advice wanted
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 10:09:19 pm »
my B44 motors on the bench in a gazillion pieces,replacing all bearings/seals etc,the usual stuff,be interested in what ifs too, :P
work,the curse of the racing class!!
if a hammer dosn't fix it,you have a electrical problem!!

Offline geoff

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2013, 10:59:37 pm »

Mark Cook in the UK does a suitable cam for the BSA B44 called a joy cam. It's supposed to give more mid range than the BSA B50 CAM.
      Also Terry Weedy again in the UK does a similar cam along with lots of other spares suitable for the BSA models. Both have web sites and both are good to deal with.

Offline bazza

• Legend