Author Topic: Cost of racing  (Read 6405 times)

Offline caps 999

• Legend
    • View Profile
Re: Cost of racing
« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2009, 08:25:49 PM »
thats cheap if you compare it to modern mx nationals $500 a race as a privateer and theres 8 rounds
MUGEN power

Rosco400

« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2009, 08:31:09 PM »
HL
What that says to me is that the $150 entry fee is a small % of the overall costs competing.
Noel   

Thats $87.75 after tax if your on 41.5% tax rate ;D

Offline evo550

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: May 11, 2009, 02:14:26 PM »
Wasp,

You don't have to generate income from it, I make all my claims as a cost incurred to me to advertise my business, it  may be dfferent for companies (I'm a sole trader)

Rosco400

« Reply #18 on: May 11, 2009, 02:33:09 PM »
Wasp,

You don't have to generate income from it, I make all my claims as a cost incurred to me to advertise my business, it  may be dfferent for companies (I'm a sole trader)

Make sure you read between the lines as to what the ATO is really saying, the Auditors would love to hear you make that statement to them EVO550.

Quote:Section 8-1 of the ITAA 1997 allows a deduction for all losses or outgoings to the extent that they are incurred in gaining or producing assessable income or are necessarily incurred in carrying on a business for the purpose of gaining or producing assessable income.

If you dont view to gain an assessable income from the sponsorship/advertising, you will be disallowed and that is straight from the rulebook

Offline Marc.com

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #19 on: May 11, 2009, 03:37:08 PM »
thats cheap if you compare it to modern mx nationals $500 a race as a privateer and theres 8 rounds

Modern MX nationals have a few more overheads, like the profesional riders who expect to make a living off the deal and to some extent be paid to be there by the promoters.