Author Topic: Some simple questions i can't get answered  (Read 2057 times)

mitchrohr

Some simple questions i can't get answered
« on: October 24, 2008, 09:57:38 pm »
Hey guys. As some of you may know i'm planning on rebuilding a Suzuki TS250. Seeing as how i know nothing about rebuilding bikes, and i bought it mainly to learn about it, I was wondering if anyone answer some simple questions i have. Firstly, what's the go with the battery? The bike i bought dosen't have one, and dosent look like it ever has, in the sense that there is no recognisable place for it, as well as the fact that it is kickstart? Bear with me, im a total noob to dirtbikes & two strokes. Also, the head has two spots for a spark plug? What is the reason for this? Do they foul that quickly that you change over during a ride? Or is there something else that needs to go in there? Thanks for your time guys.

Mitch

Offline E74

• Legend
    • View Profile
Re: Some simple questions i can't get answered
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2008, 10:33:46 pm »
Hi,

I'll have a go at this, it probably does not or never had a battery, it would have an inbuilt generator to operate any electricals, it would have two spark plug holes possibly just so it has a spare if the main does foul, not meaning it would do so on a regular basis, but just in case, also these second holes can be fitted with decompresion vaulve if needed.

Offline pokey

• Legend
  • Arse .. Elbow. Know the difference
    • View Profile
    • FB
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2008, 01:58:14 pm »
TS being a dual purpose bike complete with lights  and blinkers all had batteries when they left the factory. The batteries were used to run the lighting system . . The original wiring system can be altered so the lights will run  without the use of a battery  but getting a constant supply of "clean" power to the lights requires a few gadgets  . also the lights wont work unless the engine is running.