Author Topic: KLX250 Needs rebore  (Read 8921 times)

Offline PBMGold

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
Re: KLX250 Needs rebore
« Reply #15 on: October 30, 2014, 08:47:12 am »
Hi Sleepy,

Yes please PM me details of a trustworthy source.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not suggesting Team Moto are not honest. Their staff are great but the company is driven first and foremost by the dollar. I guess that is why they are still around and growing all the time.

Offline grouty

• A-Grade
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: October 30, 2014, 10:08:02 am »
I have been running the 270 kit for many years now. No issues with the gearbox so long as you use the clutch for the changes and don't treat it like a 250 two stroke motocrosser.
There is quite a thread on this under "KLX250 a shared disease"

I used a 72mm MTC piston from Florida. Not too expensive either. A rebore here in the UK is about £35-£40. The taking apart and putting back together is a doddle. You don't even have to take the engine out to do it. I also built up a head with Megacycle cam and 1"1/2 exhaust. It is still gutless, but has the grunt of an XT500 !

If you are being quoted those sort of prices I would go elsewhere !
You will find plenty of help on here for the KLX. They may be gutless (it will improve a bit), but if treated right the are very reliable and handle like a dream.
Thumpers Rule !

Offline grouty

• A-Grade
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: October 30, 2014, 10:20:50 am »
Link to the original thread    http://forum.ozvmx.com/index.php?topic=102.0

There is 18 pages !
Many more topics if you search under KLX250
Thumpers Rule !

Offline Curtis

• Legend
    • View Profile
    • japspec.com.au
« Reply #18 on: October 30, 2014, 01:50:19 pm »
I have a good 2nd hand barrel with piston and rings still in spec if your interested!?

Offline PBMGold

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
« Reply #19 on: October 30, 2014, 04:59:45 pm »