Author Topic: HL500  (Read 109508 times)

Offline crash n bern

• Legend
    • View Profile
Re: HL500
« Reply #300 on: January 10, 2013, 08:49:36 AM »
Couldnt agree with you more Bill, most disapointing motorcycles I have ever riden, I rode them in the daylight though so it appears to not matter when you ride one.

Gee you blokes are harsh.  I've been riding those old boat anchors for 35 years.   
Your missing a few points.  Slow, well compared to a turbocharged Hyabusa, everything is slow.  Most people don't put Harley's into perspective, the original design is to carry two people and a lot of luggage ( Hence torque over eye watering acceleration.) for thousands of miles comfortably across American highways, and they do that very well.  If your trying to cut fast lap times or compare them to something they are not, you will be very disapointed. 
Go take a new Street glide for a  run up the highway.

The irony is, I like them because they feel like the big road bike version of my favourite old dirt bike, the TT500.

Offline mick25

• Legend
  • Hunter valley NSW
    • View Profile
« Reply #301 on: January 10, 2013, 06:48:47 PM »
Couldnt agree with you more Bill, most disapointing motorcycles I have ever riden, I rode them in the daylight though so it appears to not matter when you ride one.

Gee you blokes are harsh.  I've been riding those old boat anchors for 35 years.   
Your missing a few points.  Slow, well compared to a turbocharged Hyabusa, everything is slow.  Most people don't put Harley's into perspective, the original design is to carry two people and a lot of luggage ( Hence torque over eye watering acceleration.) for thousands of miles comfortably across American highways, and they do that very well.  If your trying to cut fast lap times or compare them to something they are not, you will be very disapointed. 
Go take a new Street glide for a  run up the highway.