Author Topic: Hybrids or mix n match  (Read 3785 times)

Offline brent j

• Legend
  • Darwin, NT. Suzuki tragic, RL250M TS90MX PE250B
    • View Profile
Hybrids or mix n match
« on: August 22, 2007, 10:26:52 PM »
Here's some more ramblings. These are my collection of thoughts based on a lot of reading and lot more mistakes over the last few years.

XT/TT, thoughts of a victim.

I started out writing this about XT/TT500’s but it really applies to any hybrid.

When setting up an XT/TT500 with “other” parts I think it pays to look at what you want overall and select the parts to achieve this.

I’m not saying I’m an expert but over the last five or six years I’ve learned a lot and made a lot of mistakes.

To look at the overall package you need to look at.

What do you want the bike for? Will it be a trail/play bike or are you building a race bike? Do you want to race in a certain class? Remember to build your bike to suit the rules, don’t expect the rules to change to suit you.

Forks. What sort of forks will you use? Do you want to qualify for a certain class i.e. Pre 78? EVO? Will travel be a consideration?

Fork angle. XT/TT500’s have a fairly shallow steering head angle. This gives stability in a straight line but is not the best for turning corners. Later models do have a steeper steering head angle.

What spring rates will you need? Most available forks will be off a two stroke that was a lot lighter then the XT/TT so the springs will be way too soft (spring rate too low). Easy you say, just preload the springs a bit more. Sitting still this is fine but you end up with a harsh ride at low speeds and it bottoms on any sort of jump.

And what about damping? The forks you’ve picked up were probably underdamped to start with and now they are having to cope with quite a few more kilos, (both the bike and us!) YSS PD fork valves or Race-Tech cartridge emulators are the go here. They will give both a better ride and much better control.