Author Topic: '78 OR390 shocks  (Read 4882 times)

Offline Tony Two Times

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
'78 OR390 shocks
« on: February 22, 2016, 12:18:21 PM »
I'm new to Sweden so have been scouring the web for info on my shocks but not coming up with much except that they appear on variosu Huskys of the same era. Anyone help on make model and their rebuildability?

#66 - Fat Snail Racing.

Offline Tony Two Times

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
Re: '78 OR390 shocks
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 12:36:01 PM »
Curnutt!!

Praise geebuz!! (and google).

At least I know what they are now. Still don;t know what the hell to do with them?  :-[
#66 - Fat Snail Racing.

Offline shelpi

• Legend
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 01:17:22 PM »
sorry to hijack, just interested how well the curnutt's work? never used them but have heard good reports

Offline Scootern29

• C-Grade
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2016, 01:33:59 PM »
The Curnutt's you have work really well in cross country and desert type terrain. Motocross they work good if you get used to them. The faster you go the better they work. You really can't tell if they are working properly unless you are riding the bike. They are somewhat easily rebuildable if you can get seals down under, charging them with Nitrogen would be your problem without the special tool. Those shocks you have were set up for an average rider at the time of#180lbs. They are somewhat a delicate shock as you don't want to turn the rods with the shock extended as you can really screw up the internals. You need to compress the shock about !1/2 way to not damage them. I more than likely assembled those as I worked for Charles Curnutt from 1975-1982.

If you need help with them just ask. I am doing a service here in the states. Their are only 2 people that know about these more than me........Charles Curnutt and his son Charlie Jr.

Offline shelpi

• Legend
    • View Profile